Up, up and away! A place for comic-book fans to gather.

Tuesday, June 19, 2007

Return to Kirby's Fourth World

When Jack “The King” Kirby left Marvel for DC in 1970, he jolted the DC landscape with an incredible burst of creative energy. The New Gods, the Forever People, Mister Miracle, Darkseid, boom tubes - all rose from his unfettered imagination.

DC is collecting the epic - told in “The New Gods,” “The Forever People,” “Mister Miracle” and “Superman’s Pal, Jimmy Olsen” - in chronological order with “Jack Kirby’s Fourth World Omnibus.” The first of four volumes is now out, and it’s a great lesson in why Kirby was, indeed, king. And don’t miss the afterword by Mark Evanier, with some great insider stuff on Kirby’s defection to DC and his creation of the New Gods.


Post a Comment

<< Home